Board of Directors

A key to Steel & Tube’s long term growth and sustainability is strong governance. Our Board is focused on delivering improved outcomes for all stakeholders including our customers, New Zealanders and good returns for shareholders.

  • Susan Paterson

    ONZM, CFInstD, MBA (Ldn), BPharm

    Chair and Independent Director
    Susan became a Director on 16 January 2017 and was appointed Chair on 16 February 2017. A professional Director since 1996, in 2015 Susan was appointed an Officer of the Order of New Zealand (ONZM) for her services to corporate governance. Having trained and practiced as a pharmacist, Susan completed her MBA at London Business School, then worked in strategy and IT consulting and management roles in New Zealand, Europe and USA. She worked in the steel sector at Fletcher Challenge and was General Manager of Wiremakers. Susan’s directorships also include Arvida Group, Theta Systems (Chair), Les Mills NZ, the Reserve Bank, ERoad and Lodestone Energy. Susan is a mentor on the Institute of Director’s Mentoring for Diversity programme.
  • Steve Reindler


    Independent Director
    Steve was appointed a Director on 28 August 2017. Steve is an engineer with a background in large-scale infrastructure and heavy industry manufacturing. He was GM Engineering at Auckland International Airport for 11 years, and his previous employment included 22 years with NZ Steel and BHP Steel where he held a number of roles including GM Engineering and Environment. Steve was inaugural chairman of the Chartered Professional Engineers Council and President of the New Zealand Institution of Professional Engineers. Steve’s current directorships include Ports of Auckland, Z Energy Ltd, Broome International Airport Group, Christchurch Multi Use Arena Project, he is chair of Waste Disposal Services JV, D&H Steel Construction Ltd, Clearwater Construction Ltd, Lincoln University Science North Building Programme, and is a Trustee of the Whitford Community Charitable Trust.
  • Chris Ellis


    Independent Director
    Appointed a Director on 29 September 2017, Chris’ background spans the manufacturing, heavy construction and engineering sectors. He qualified with a civil engineering degree from the University of Canterbury, a Master of Science in civil engineering from Stanford University and more recently a senior executive program at Wharton Business School. He is an experienced, strategy-focused director with an extensive career in the Australasian building industry. He has held CEO roles with Brightwater Group and at Fletcher Building where he was Chief Executive of the Building Products Division. Chris's directorships include Hiway Group, Horizon Energy Group, and Steelpipe NZ, and he is Independent Chair at Oxcon Ltd.
  • John Beveridge

    BA, Post Grad Business Diploma, CMINSTD

    Independent Director
    John was appointed to the Board on 14 August 2019. He has held a range of senior executive roles across a variety of sectors including building and industrial materials manufacturing, distribution, finance and consumer goods. John was most recently the Chief Executive for the building trade materials supplier, Placemakers, and previously held leadership roles at Godfrey Hirst, Lion Nathan and Barclays Bank PLC. He currently sits on the boards of Horizon Energy Group, NZ Scaffolding Group (Chair), Door+Window Systems Auckland and Blood Corp. He has an economics degree from Otago University, Post Graduate Marketing Diploma from Auckland University and has completed the Senior Executive program at Columbia University, New York.
  • Karen Jordan

    BSocSc, FCMA, CFInstD

    Independent Director
    Karen was appointed in December 2020. She is a director experienced across private, public and not-for-profit sectors. She is a Chartered Member of the IOD NZ and a Fellow of CIMA. Karen has over 20 years corporate experience in FTSE listed energy companies in the UK energy infrastructure sector. She is currently a director on the Board of City Rail Link Ltd, an Independent Member of the NZDF Risk & Assurance Committee and of the NZ Inland Revenue Risk & Assurance Committee.
  • Andrew Flavell

    NZCE, BE (Hons), ME, PhD.

    Independent Director
    Dr. Flavell was appointed in September 2021. He has extensive international experience in the Information Technology space. This includes leading large teams, driving digital transformations, delivering compelling consumer experiences, Personalization and Loyalty, Privacy and Security, and AI and machine learning. In the roles he has held over the past 30 years he has also contributed significantly to risk management and governance in the application of digital technologies.